Senate Bill 5 — the omnibus abortion legislation that Republican lawmakers are racing to approve before the special session ends Tuesday night — has been labeled as among the strictest abortion regulations in the country.
This interactive shows which of the 42 abortion facilities in Texas would meet the stricter regulatory standards in SB 5. The facilities marked in yellow are ambulatory surgical centers, which would meet the regulatory standards in SB 5, while the facilities marked in blue are medical clinics that would not meet the standards. The table below compares the ban on abortions 20 weeks after fertilization in SB 5 with the legal timeframes for abortion set by other states.
|State||Type of Ban||Law Status|
Though most physicians calculate the stage of a woman's pregnancy based on her last menstrual period, SB 5 would do it post-fertilization — a difference of two weeks.
California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Ohio, Tennessee, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming allow abortions until a doctor determines the fetus is viable. North Dakota will allow abortions up to that point until a new six-week ban kicks in Aug. 1. Though that date can vary, the point of viability typically falls around 26 weeks after the last menstrual period — 24 weeks after fertilization. For comparison purposes, those states are labeled as allowing abortions up to that point.
SB 5 would also require abortion facilities in Texas to meet state ambulatory surgical center standards, but the stringency of those standards can vary from state to state. Texas’ standards fall on the stricter side, said Elizabeth Nash, a policy analyst at the Guttmacher Institute, a nonprofit that researches reproductive health and abortion issues.
The state Senate has until the end of the day Tuesday to pass SB 5.
Texas Tribune donors or members may be quoted or mentioned in our stories, or may be the subject of them. For a complete list of contributors, click here.