Skip to main content
Texas Legislature 2019

Texas lawmakers are done. Here are this session's winners and losers.

The 86th legislative session is in the history books. Who's up and who's down after the 140-day marathon in Austin?

Lead image for this article

Texas Legislature 2019

The 86th Legislature runs from Jan. 8 to May 27. From the state budget to health care to education policy — and the politics behind it all — we focus on what Texans need to know about the biennial legislative session.

 More in this series 

Winner: The "Big Three"

Loser: Supporters of the sales tax swap

Winner: The center right

Loser: The far right

Winner: Police unions

Loser: The business community

Winner: Veteran teachers

Loser: Cities

Loser: David Whitley

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Support independent Texas news

Become a member. Join today.

Donate now

Explore related story topics

86th Legislative Session Dan Patrick Dennis Bonnen Greg Abbott Greg Bonnen Texas House of Representatives Texas Legislature Texas Senate