House Bill 80 would make it a misdemeanor statewide to use a portable wireless device for reading, writing or sending a text while driving — a violation punishable by a fine of up to $99 on the first offense and $200 for additional infractions.
There are about three dozen Texas cities that already have a related ban on the books, and the goal of the legislation, authored by state Rep. Tom Craddick, R-Midland, is to create a uniform, statewide ban.
An amendment tacked onto the bill would have the legislation pre-empt all local texting ordinances, meaning texting bans in the 38 cities would mirror the parameters laid out in HB 80 if it becomes law. It would not impact more stringent hands-free regulations that are already in place or that cities enact in the future.
Using the drop-down tab below, find your city’s name to find out how it currently regulates texting while driving, or filter the list by ban type.
The Texas Tribune thanks its sponsors. Become one.