Skip to main content

Tea Party Leaders Will Advise Patrick on Key Issues

Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick has formed a new advisory board to focus on border security, education reform and tax relief. Its members? Tea Party leaders from across the state.

New Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick listens to State Sen. Eddie Lucio, Jr. D-Brownsville, during debate on the two-thirds rule Jan. 21, 2015.

Calling on Tea Party leaders around the state, Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick announced Tuesday that he has formed a "Grassroots Advisory Board" to focus on border security, education reform and tax relief. 

The news follows the appointment of the Lieutenant Governor's Private Citizen Advisory Boards, which Patrick set up to bring business and industry leaders into the legislative process.

The board's 20 members include Chairwoman JoAnn Fleming of Flint, the executive director of the political advocacy group Grassroots America-We the People; Julie McCarty of Grapevine, the co-founder and president of the NE Tarrant Tea Party; Katrina Pierson of Garland, the conservative activist who challenged incumbent U.S. Rep. Pete Sessions in the 2014 Republican primary; and Robin Lennon of Kingwood, a founding member of Clean Up Austin, a coalition of Tea Party groups that targets tax incentives. (See the full list of board members below).

Fleming, who chaired the Legislature's Tea Party Caucus advisory committee during the 2011 and 2013 legislative sessions, said the new grassroots board would be a separate entity and have a narrower scope.

Lieutenant Governor Grassroots Advisory Board Members

Chair — JoAnn Fleming

Julie Turner

Katrina Pierson

Bill Hussey

Ken Emanuelson   

Chuck Molyneaux

Larry Youngblood

Connie Curry

Michael  Openshaw

Dean Wright

Robin Lennon

Debbie Georgatos

Sharon Hall

Derek Baker

Steve Baysinger

Jim Lennon  

Ted Hart

Julie McCarty

Tom Fabry

Toni  Fabry

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Yes, I'll donate today

Explore related story topics

Politics 84th Legislative Session Dan Patrick