Skip to main content

TribBlog: Musical Chairs

Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst has shuffled the chairs in the Texas Senate.

Lt. Governor David Dewhurst give a keynote speech. First general session of the Texas Republican Convention featuring Governor Rick Perry and all the other statewide elected officials.

Time for some musical chairs in the Texas Senate.

Republican Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst announced today the reshuffling of eight Senate committee chairmanships.

See if you can follow along:

State Sen. Kevin Eltife, R-Tyler, will replace state Sen. Tommy Williams, R-The Woodlands, as chairman of Senate Administration. Williams, in turn, will replace state Sen. John Carona, R-Dallas, as chairman of Transportation and Homeland Security. Carona will take over Business & Commerce, replacing state Sen. Troy Fraser, R-Horseshoe Bay, who now becomes the chairman of Natural Resources, which was previously run by retired state Sen. Kip Averitt, R-Waco. 

State Sen. Jeff Wentworth, R-San Antonio, will chair the Select Committee on Veterans Health. State Sen. Mike Jackson, R-La Porte, will cease to chair Nominations and will now head up Economic Development, where he will replace state Sen. Chris Harris, R-Arlington. State Sen. Bob Deuell, R-Greenville, will take over for Jackson on Nominations, and Harris will become the chairman of Jurisprudence, formerly chaired by Wentworth.

There you have it.

A complete list of the committees as they now stand is embedded below and is also available, along with Dewhurst’s press release on the changes, to the right.


New Committees List

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Yes, I'll donate today

Explore related story topics

State government David Dewhurst Texas Legislature Texas Senate