Despite their best efforts, several of Tuesday’s candidates couldn’t pull off the needed majority vote to avoid a runoff six weeks from now on April 13.

• In the Texas House, incumbent Fred Brown will face off against Gerald “Buddy” Winn to see who will represent the GOP in the race for HD-14.

• Paul Workman will battle Holly White Turner again in HD-47 for the GOP nod.

• In HD-52, John Gordan will face Larry Gonzalez.

The Texas Tribune thanks its sponsors. Become one.

• In HD-66, Van Taylor will once again try to defeat Mabrie Griffith Jackson.

• In HD-76, incumbent Norma Chavez will try to save her seat from challenger Naomi Gonzalez.

• In HD-83, incumbent Delwin Jones will face Charles Perry.

• In HD-84, it’s Mark Griffin and John Frullo.

• In HD-127 it’s Dan Huberty and Susan Curling.

• And in HD-149 it will be Jack O'Connor and Dianne Williams.

The Texas Tribune thanks its sponsors. Become one.

After Tuesday’s primary, some constituents already know who’s going to the Legislature to represent them in 2011, because the victors face no general election opponents.

Start with challengers who beat out incumbents in their contests. In no particular order, they are:

• Lance Gooden of HD-4, David Simpson of HD-7, Ron Reynolds of HD-27, Jose Manuel Lozano of HD- 43 and Eric Johnson in HD-100. The first two are Republicans; the other three are Democrats.

• Democrat Sergio Munoz Jr. won HD-36, the only open Texas House seat on our list.

• And the incumbents who sailed past their primary opponents to an easy unopposed victory in the general election include Dan Flynn of HD-2, Rob Eissler of HD-15, Edmund Kuempel of HD-44, Sid Miller of HD-59, Myra Crownover of HD-64, Burt Solomons of HD-65, Charlie Geren of HD-99 and John Davis of HD-129. All of those are Republicans.

Texas Tribune donors or members may be quoted or mentioned in our stories, or may be the subject of them. For a complete list of contributors, click here.

Get The Brief

Never miss a moment in Texas politics with our daily newsletter.