Skip to main content


Even though most of the focus for the last couple of months has been on the outcome of contested primaries, nearly half of the next Legislature has already been chosen.

Even though most of the focus for the last couple of months has been on the outcome of contested primaries, nearly half of the next Legislature has already been chosen. A large and lucky group of lawmakers didn’t draw opponents in either the primary or the general election. In the House, 70 incumbents — 31 Democrats and 39 Republicans — face no major-party challenges tomorrow or in the fall. In the Senate, six incumbents have no major-party challengers. In statewide races, two judges and the comptroller of public accounts drew no such opposition. And four of the state's 32 U.S. congressman get to sit back and relax as well.

Then there are the incumbents whose work doesn’t start until tomorrow. In 48 other House races, the incumbent went uncontested in the primary but has a general election opponent. Fourteen other U.S. congressmen didn’t draw any opposition within their own parties, as well as four other state senators. Most of the uncontested primaries came on the Democratic side, likely thanks to the Tea Party movement, which — for the moment, at least — has focused its attention to the GOP.

Of course, the Libertarians are mounting campaigns in many of these “uncontested” races, but until they change their history of never defeating a major-party candidate, the D's and R's have no reason to worry.

Practically Elected: No Primary or General Election Opponent


Candidate Party City Title
Susan Combs GOP Austin Comptroller
Lawrence Meyers
GOP Austin TCCA, Place 2
Cheryl Johnson GOP Austin TCCA, Place 5

U.S. Congress

Candidate Party City District
Louie Gohmert GOP Tyler CD-1
Ted Poe GOP Humble CD-2
John Culberson GOP Houston CD-7
Mac Thornberry GOP Clarendon CD-13

Texas Senate

Candidate Party City District
Kevin Eltife GOP Tyler SD-1
Robert Nichols GOP Jacksonville SD-3
Dan Patrick GOP Houston SD-7
Florence Shapiro GOP Plano SD-8
Joan Huffman GOP Southside Place SD-17
Jeff Wentworth GOP San Antonio SD-25

Texas House

Candidate Party City District
Bryan Hughes GOP Marshall HD-5
Leo Berman GOP Tyler HD-6
Jim Pitts GOP Wichita Falls HD-10
Lois Kolkhorst GOP Brenham HD-13
Brandon Creighton GOP Conroe HD-16
John Otto GOP Dayton HD-18
Mike Hamilton GOP Mauriceville HD-19
Allan Ritter Dem Nederland HD-21
Joe Deshotel Dem Port Arthur HD-22
Larry Taylor GOP League City HD-24
Dennis Bonnen GOP Angleton HD-25
Randy Weber GOP Pearland HD-29
Geanie Morrison GOP Victoria HD-30
Ryan Guillen Dem Rio Grande City HD-31
Todd Hunter GOP Corpus Christi HD-32
Rene Oliveira Dem Brownsville HD-37
Eddie Lucio III Dem San Benito HD-38
Aaron Pena Dem Edinburg HD-40
Richard Pena Raymond Dem Laredo HD-42
Dawnna Dukes Dem Austin HD-46
Elliott Naishtat Dem Austin HD-49
Harvey Hilderbran GOP Kerrville HD-53
Jimmie Don Aycock GOP Killeen HD-54
Ralph Sheffield GOP Temple HD-55
Jim Keffer GOP Eastland HD-60
Phil King GOP Weatherford HD-61
Larry Phillips GOP Sherman HD-62
Tan Parker GOP Flower Mound HD-63
Jerry Madden GOP Plano HD-67
Rick Hardcastle GOP Vernon HD-68
Ken Paxton GOP McKinney HD-79
Susan King GOP Abilene HD-71
Drew Darby GOP San Angelo HD-72
Doug Miller GOP New Braunfels HD-73
Chente Quintanilla Dem Tornillo HD-75
Marisa Marquez Dem El Paso HD-77
Joe Pickett Dem El Paso HD-79
Tracy King Dem Batesville HD-80
Tryon Lewis GOP Odessa HD-81
Tom Craddick GOP Midland HD-82
John Smithee GOP Amarillo HD-86
Warren Chisum GOP Pampa HD-88
Jodie Laubenberg GOP Parker HD-89
Diane Patrick GOP Arlington HD-94
Marc Veasey Dem Fort Worth HD-95
Mark Shelton GOP Fort Worth HD-97
Rafael Anchia Dem Dallas HD-103
Roberto Alonzo Dem Dallas HD-104
Helen Giddings Dem DeSoto HD-109
Barbara Mallory Caraway Dem Dallas HD-110
Yvonne Davis Dem Dallas HD-111
Angie Chen Button GOP Richardson HD-112
Jim Jackson GOP Carollton HD-115
Trey Martinez-Fischer Dem San Antonio HD-116
Joe Farias Dem San Antonio HD-118
Ruth McClendon Dem San Antonio HD-120
Joe Straus GOP San Antonio HD-121
Mike Villarreal Dem San Antonio HD-123
Jose Menendez Dem San Antonio HD-124
Joaquin Castro Dem San Antonio HD-125
Wayne Smith GOP Baytown HD-129
Allen Fletcher GOP Houston HD-130
Alma Allen Dem Houston HD-131
Gary Elkins GOP Houston HD-135
Beverly Woolley GOP Houston HD-136
Sylvester Turner Dem Houston HD-139
Armando Walle Dem Houston HD-140
Harold Dutton Dem Houston HD-142
Carol Alvarado Dem Houston HD-145
Garnet Coleman Dem Houston HD-147


First-Round Byes: No Primary Opponent


Candidate Party City Title
David Dewhurst GOP Austin Lieutenant Governor
Greg Abbott GOP Austin Attorney General
Jerry Patterson GOP Austin Land Commissioner
Todd Staples GOP Austin Agriculture Commissioner
Michael Keasler GOP Austin TCCA, Place 6
Paul Green GOP Austin SCOTX, Place 5

U.S. Congress

Candidate Party City District
Sam Johnson GOP Richardson CD-3
Jeb Hensarling GOP Dallas CD-5
Joe Barton GOP Ennis CD-6
Al Green Dem Houston CD-9
Silvestre Reyes Dem El Paso CD-16
Chet Edwards Dem Waco CD-17
Randy Neugebauer GOP Lubbock CD-19
Charlie Gonzalez Dem San Antonio CD-20
Pete Olson GOP Sugar Land CD-22
Lloyd Doggett Dem Austin CD-25
Solomon Ortiz Dem Corpus Christi CD-27
Henry Cuellar Dem Laredo CD-28
Gene Green Dem Houston CD-29
Eddie Bernice Johnson Dem Dallas CD-30

Texas Senate

Candidate Party City District
Rodney Ellis Dem Houston SD-13
Kirk Watson Dem Austin SD-24
John Whitemire Dem Houston SD-15
Glenn Hegar GOP Katy SD-18

Texas House

Candidate Party City District
Stephen Frost Dem New Boston HD-1
Mark Homer Dem Paris HD-3
Byron Cook GOP Austin HD-8
Wayne Christian GOP Center HD-9
Jim McReynolds Dem Lufkin HD-12
Tim Kleinschmidt GOP Austin HD-17
Craig Eiland Dem Galveston HD-23
Charlie Howard GOP Sugar Land HD-26
John Zerwas GOP Simonton HD-28
Solomon Ortiz Jr. Dem Corpus Christi HD-33
Abel Herrero Dem Corpus Christi HD-34
Yvonne Gonzalez Toureilles Dem Beeville HD-35
Veronica Gonzales Dem McAllen HD-41
Valinda Bolton Dem Austin HD-47
Donna Howard Dem Austin HD-48
Mark Strama Dem Austin HD-50
Eddie Rodriguez Dem Austin HD-51
Diana Maldonado Dem Round Rock HD-52
Charles "Doc" Anderson GOP Waco HD-56
Jim Dunnam Dem Waco HD-57
Pete Gallego Dem Alpine HD-74
Joseph Moody Dem El Paso HD-78
Joe Heflin Dem Crosbyton HD-85
Lon Burnam Dem Fort Worth HD-90
Paula Pierson Dem Arlington HD-93
Chris Turner Dem Arlington HD-96
Robert Miklos Dem Mesquite HD-101
Carol Kent Dem Dallas HD-102
Linda Harper-Brown GOP Irving HD-105
Kirk England Dem Grand Prairie HD-106
Allen Vaught Dem Dallas HD-107
Dan Branch GOP Dallas HD-108
Joe Driver GOP Garland HD-113
Will Hartnett GOP Dallas HD-114
David Leibowitz Dem San Antonio HD-117
Roland Gutierrez Dem San Antonio HD-119
Patricia Harless GOP Spring HD-126
Bill Callegari GOP Houston HD-132
Kristi Thibaut Dem Houston HD-133
Ellen Cohen Dem Houston HD-134
Scott Hochberg Dem Houston HD-137
Dwayne Bohac GOP Houston HD-138
Senfronia Thompson Dem Houston HD-141
Ana Hernandez Dem Houston HD-143
Ken Legler GOP Pasadena HD-144
Jessica Farrar Dem Houston HD-148
Hubert Vo Dem Houston HD-149
Debbie Riddle GOP Houston HD-150

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Support independent Texas news

Become a member. Join today.

Donate now

Explore related story topics

2010 elections