Skip to main content

Three Texas Republicans vote against awarding Congressional Gold Medals to police who protected Capitol during insurrection

U.S. Reps. Michael Cloud of Victoria, Louie Gohmert of Tyler and Lance Gooden of Terrell voted against the resolution. Gohmert reportedly took issue with the characterization of the attack in the resolution as an "insurrection."

Pro-Trump rioters clashed with Capitol police during a rally to contest the certification of the 2020 U.S. presidential elec…
The Texas Tribune Member Drive Fall 2021 banner

Support public-service journalism that’s always free to read.

Yes, I'll donate today