Skip to main content
Texas 2020 Elections

Jim Wright wins Texas Railroad Commission race, extending decades of Republican dominance on the oil and gas regulating board

Wright defeated Democrat Chrysta Castañeda. The commission's elected, three-member board has been entirely Republican for at least 25 years.

James "Jim" Wright defeated incumbent Railroad Commissioner Ryan Sitton in the Republican Primary.

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Yes, I'll donate today

Explore related story topics

Politics State government Texas Court Of Criminal Appeals Texas Railroad Commission Texas Supreme Court