Skip to main content
Texas 2020 Elections

Railroad Commissioner Ryan Sitton concedes Republican primary in surprising upset

Sitton was elected in 2014 to the three-member board, which oversees Texas' oil and gas industry. Jim Wright, who beat him in an upset, owns an oilfield waste services company.

Texas Railroad Commissioner Ryan Sitton at a hearing in Austin on Oct. 10, 2017.

Texas 2020 Elections

The last day to register to vote in Texas is Oct. 5. The last day to request a ballot to vote by mail is Oct. 23. Early voting starts on Oct. 13 and ends Oct. 30. Learn more about voting by mail, check out our guide on voting during the pandemic and bookmark your Texas ballot.

 More in this series 

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Yes, I'll donate today

Explore related story topics

Politics State government Ryan Sitton Texas Railroad Commission