Skip to main content
Texas Elections 2018

How Texas Democrats lost a state Senate seat amid talk of a blue wave

Republican Pete Flores defeated Democrat Pete Gallego on Tuesday in a state Senate district that Hillary Clinton won by 12 points, prompting Democratic soul-searching less than two months before the midterms.

Peter Flores thanks his supporters after his victory over Pete Gallego in a special election to succeed former state Senator Carlos Uresti, on Sept. 18, 2018.

Texas Elections 2018

U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz defeated Democratic challenger Beto O'Rourke in the race for U.S. Senate. View full 2018 Texas election results or subscribe to The Brief for the latest election news.

 More in this series 

Wait! We need your help.


Explore related story topics

2018 elections Carlos "Charlie" Uresti Dan Patrick Texas Legislature Texas Senate