Skip to main content

State Rep. Cindy Burkett challenging state Sen. Bob Hall in primary

State Rep. Cindy Burkett, R-Sunnyvale, is launching a primary challenge to state Sen. Bob Hall of Edgewood.

State Rep. Cindy Burkett, R-Sunnyvale votes on an amendment in the Texas House on May 19, 2017.

*Editor's note: This story has been updated throughout.

State Rep. Cindy Burkett, R-Sunnyvale, launched a challenge Tuesday to state Sen. Bob Hall of Edgewood, setting up a Republican primary clash in North Texas.

"I am proud of what I have accomplished for Texas and for all people who share my conservative values,” Burkett said in a news release. "Serving in the Texas Senate will allow me to continue and expand this work."

Burkett is serving her fourth term in the House, where she chairs the Redistricting Committee. She first won election to House District 101 in 2010. After HD-101 was altered by redistricting in 2011, Burkett successfully ran for House District 113, which she currently represents. 

Hall, a Tea Party activist, won the Senate District 2 seat three years ago in an upset victory over Bob Deuell, the Republican incumbent from Greenville. Burkett was once an aide to Deuell in the Senate. 

Hall has not yet announced he's running for re-election but has been building support and raising money for a 2018 campaign. In a statement, Hall said he has already established himself as one of the most conservative members of the Senate, which has led to "strong opposition from liberal forces."

"Those liberal forces have found an ally in Cindy Burkett," Hall said. "Over the next six months the contrast will be clear to voters. We welcome the challenge."

At least two candidates are already running for Burkett's seat in HD-113. They include Garland Republican Jonathan Boos and Rowlett Democrat Rhetta Bowers, both of whom unsuccessfully challenged Burkett in 2016.

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Support independent Texas news

Become a member. Join today.

Donate now

Explore related story topics

Bob Hall Cindy Burkett Texas Senate