Skip to main content

Marco Rubio Announces Texas Leadership Team

The Rubio Texas team now includes current and former state representatives James Frank, Larry Gonzales, Jason Isaac, Linda Harper-Brown, Martha Wong, Peggy Hamric and Myra Crownover.

U.S. Sen. and presidential candidate Marco Rubio of Florida speaks at a rally in Dallas on Jan. 6, 2016.

WASHINGTON — On the heels of his strong third-place finish in Iowa, U.S. Sen. Marco Rubio of Florida announced his Texas leadership team Tuesday morning. 

U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz placed first in Iowa's Monday evening contest and is expected to also best Rubio in Texas' March 1 primary. That said, Texas delegates will be awarded proportionally. That could give Rubio an opportunity to pick up some delegates, if not an all-out statewide win. 

Outside of fundraising, Rubio has not invested much infrastructure in the state. But in recent weeks, Texas GOP operatives say they've seen an uptick in volunteers, turnout and organization for Rubio at local Republican events.  

And the Rubio Texas team now includes current and former state representatives.

The full team: 


Texas Leadership Team

  • State Rep. Myra Crownover of Denton
  • Former Texas GOP Vice Chair Dorothy Doehne 
  • Former state Rep. Peggy Hamric of Houston
  • Former President of the Texas Federation of Republican Women Beverly Kaufman
  • Harris County Judge Jon Lindsay 
  • Carrollton Mayor Matthew Marchant 
  • Waco City Council Member Dillon Meek 
  • Philanthropist Trini Mendenhall
  • Former Dallas County GOP Chairman Jonathan Neerman 
  • Former Harris County GOP Chairman Gary Polland 
  • Harris County Treasurer Orlando Sanchez 
  • Collin County Deputy Mayor Pro Tempore Will Sowell  
  • Former President of the National Federation of Republican Women Dianne Thompson 

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Support independent Texas news

Become a member. Join today.

Donate now

Explore related story topics

Politics 2016 elections