Skip to main content

Former State Rep. Lewis to Head Transportation Commission

Gov. Greg Abbott has tapped former state Rep. Tryon Lewis, R-Odessa, to be the chairman of the Texas Transportation Commission. The five-member panel oversees the Texas Department of Transportation.

State Rep. Tryon Lewis, R-Odessa, lays out SB1504 on the disposal of radioactive waste on May 17, 2011.

A day after the Texas Senate approved former state Rep. Tryon Lewis' nomination to the Texas Transportation Commission, Gov. Greg Abbott announced Wednesday that Lewis would be the commission's new chairman.

Lewis, an Odessa Republican, was a state representative from 2008 to 2015 and served a stint as chairman of the Judiciary and Civil Jurisprudence Committee. Before that, he was a state district judge from 1985 to 2006. He is currently a partner at the Atkins, Hollmann, Jones, Peacock, Lewis & Lyon law firm in Odessa. 

The five-member commission oversees the Texas Department of Transportation. Abbott appointed Lewis to the commission last month to replace Commissioner Fred Underwood. At the same time, he created an opening for the commission chair position when he appointed San Antonio banker J. Bruce Bugg Jr. to replace Chairman Ted Houghton.

Disclosure: J. Bruce Bugg Jr. is chairman of The Tobin Endowment, a major donor to The Texas Tribune. A complete list of Tribune donors and sponsors can be viewed here.

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Support independent Texas news

Become a member. Join today.

Donate now

Explore related story topics

Transportation 84th Legislative Session Greg Abbott Texas Department Of Transportation