Skip to main content

T-Squared: Tickets on Sale for 2014 Tribune Festival

The first list of confirmed speakers at this year's Texas Tribune Festival contains names like Cruz, Huntsman, Hutchison, Castro, Van de Putte, Straus, Bradley and Hayes. Get your tickets while they're early-bird cheap!

Lead image for this article

Now it can be told: U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz, former U.S. Ambassador to China Jon Huntsman, former U.S. Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison, San Antonio Mayor Julián Castro, U.S. Rep. Joaquin Castro, Democratic candidate for lieutenant governor Leticia Van De Putte, Houston Mayor Annise Parker, Speaker Joe Straus, former U.S. Sen. Bill Bradley and MSNBC's Chris Hayes are among the more than 75 confirmed speakers at the fourth annual Texas Tribune Festival.

All told, more than 150 politicians, newsmakers and thought leaders will participate in our three-day gathering of big brains and big names talking politics and public policy, which comes off Sept. 19-21 on the campus of the University of Texas at Austin.

Registration for the 2014 fest opened today, and the prices are a steal. Students and educators pay just $50, while Texas Tribune members can sign up for just $125 and non-members pay $150. The early-bird discount goes away on July 11, when the rate for members and non-members alike goes up to $200, and it rises to $240 on Aug. 29. Starting on Sept. 12, you'll fork over the final walk-up rate of $300 — so do yourself a favor and buy now. We hope to see you there!

The full list of confirmed speakers as of May 1, 2014:

  • David Anthony, CEO, Raise Your Hand Texas
  • George Antuna, co-founder, Hispanic Republicans of Texas
  • Bill Bradley, former U.S. senator from New Jersey
  • U.S. Rep. Michael Burgess, R-Lewisville
  • State Rep. Giovanni Capriglione, R-Southlake
  • U.S. Rep. Joaquin Castro, D-San Antonio
  • Julián Castro, mayor of San Antonio
  • Henry Cisneros, former mayor of San Antonio
  • Jim Clancy, chairman of the Texas Ethics Commission
  • State Rep. Garnet Coleman, D-Houston, chairman of the House County Affairs Committee
  • Mike Collier, Democratic nominee for Texas comptroller
  • Tricia Cortez, executive director of the Rio Grande International Study Center
  • Christi Craddick, Texas railroad commissioner
  • U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz, R-Texas
  • U.S. Rep. Henry Cuellar, D-Laredo
  • State Rep. Joe Deshotel, D-Beaumount, co-chairman of the Joint Interim Committee to Study a Coastal Barrier System
  • Robert Eckels, president, Texas Central Railway
  • State Sen. Rodney Ellis, D-Houston, chairman of the Senate Open Government Committee
  • U.S. Rep. Bill Flores, R-Waco
  • Kinky Friedman, Democratic candidate for Texas agriculture commissioner
  • U.S. Rep. Pete Gallego, D-Alpine
  • Adrian Garcia, Harris County sheriff
  • Juliet García, president, the University of Texas at Brownsville
  • State Rep. Charlie Geren, R-Fort Worth, chairman of the House Administration Committee
  • Russell Gold, senior energy reporter, The Wall Street Journal
  • U.S. Rep. Gene Green, D-Houston
  • Maggie Haberman, senior political reporter, Politico
  • Bill Hammond, president and CEO, Texas Association of Business
  • Chris Hayes, host, MSNBC's All In With Chris Hayes
  • State Sen. Glenn Hegar, R-Katy, Republican nominee for Texas comptroller
  • Nia-Malika Henderson, national political reporter, Washington Post
  • State Rep. Donna Howard, D-Austin, vice chairwoman of the House Administration Committee
  • Laura Huffman, Texas state director, The Nature Conservancy
  • Woody Hunt, chairman of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board's Higher Education Strategic Planning Committee
  • Jon M. Huntsman Jr., former U.S. ambassador to China; former Utah governor 
  • Kay Bailey Hutchison, former U.S. senator from Texas
  • Kyle Janek, executive commissioner of Texas Health and Human Services
  • Clay Johnston, dean of the Dell Medical School at the University of Texas at Austin
  • State Rep. Jim Keffer, R-Eastland, chairman of the House Energy Resources Committee
  • Renu Khator, chancellor, University of Houston System; president, University of Houston
  • Julie Linn, executive director, Texans for Education Reform
  • James Marston, vice president for U.S. climate and energy, Environmental Defense Fund
  • Jonathan Martin, national political correspondent, The New York Times
  • Brian McCall, chancellor, the Texas State University System
  • Kay McClenney, director of the Center for Community College Student Engagement at the University of Texas at Austin
  • Mark McKinnon, Texas co-chairman, Freedom to Marry
  • Former state Rep. Sid Miller, R-Stephenville; Republican candidate for Texas agriculture commissioner
  • Diana Natalicio, president, the University of Texas at El Paso
  • State Sen. Robert Nichols, R-Jacksonville, chairman of the Senate Transportation Committee
  • U.S. Rep. Beto O’Rourke, D-El Paso
  • Raymund Paredes, Texas commissioner of higher education
  • Annise Parker, mayor of Houston
  • Jerry Patterson, Texas land commissioner
  • State Rep. Larry Phillips, R-Sherman, chairman of the House Transportation Committee
  • State Rep. Joe Pickett, D-El Paso, chairman of the House Select Committee on Transportation Funding
  • State Rep. Jim Pitts, R-Waxahachie, chairman of the House Appropriations Committee
  • Daniel Podolsky, president of the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Bill Powers, president of the University of Texas at Austin
  • Robert Puente, CEO, San Antonio Water System
  • Richard Rhodes, president and CEO, Austin Community College
  • State Sen. José Rodríguez, D-El Paso, vice chairman of the Senate Jurisprudence Committee
  • Carlos Rubinstein, chairman of the Texas Water Development Board
  • Andrew Sansom, executive director of the Meadows Center for Water and the Environment, Texas State University
  • State Sen. Kel Seliger, R-Amarillo, chairman of the Senate Higher Education Committee
  • John Sharp, chancellor, Texas A&M University System
  • Daniel H. Sharphorn, interim vice chancellor and general counsel, the University of Texas System
  • State Rep. David Simpson, R-Longview
  • Barry Smitherman, chairman of the Texas Railroad Commission
  • Todd Staples, Texas commissioner of agriculture
  • State Rep. Joe Straus, R-San Antonio, speaker of the Texas House of Representatives
  • State Sen. Leticia Van de Putte, D-San Antonio, Democratic nominee for Texas lieutenant governor
  • State Rep. Jason Villalba, R-Dallas
  • Lynda Villanueva, vice president of academic and student affairs at Brazosport College
  • State Rep. Mike Villarreal, D-San Antonio, chairman of the House Investments and Financial Services Committee
  • State Sen. Kirk Watson, D-Austin, vice chairman of the Senate Higher Education Committee
  • Dave Weigel, political reporter, Slate
  • Michael Williams, Texas commissioner of education
  • Tommy Williams, vice chancellor of the Texas A&M University System; former state senator, R-The Woodlands

Disclosure: Though donors and corporate sponsors underwrite our events, they play no role in determining the content, panelists or line of questioning.

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Support independent Texas news

Become a member. Join today.

Donate now

Explore related story topics