Bowie Democrat Lanhon Odom was unopposed in the HD-68 primary and says there was a hot race for district judge on the GOP ballot at home. So he voted in that primary. That makes him ineligible to run for the House as a Democrat and all that's left are Republicans. The winner of July's runoff between Drew Springer and Trent McKnight will get the seat.

• U.S. Reps. Pete Olson, R-Sugar Land, and Bill Flores, R-Bryan, jumped the fence and endorsed Felicia Harris in the CD-14 runoff against state Rep. Randy Weber. Weber finished well ahead of Harris in the first round of voting.

• The Texas Association of Business' political action committee made its general election and runoff endorsements. Some of the notable ones include David Dewhurst for U.S. Senate and Warren Chisum and Barry Smitherman for the Texas Railroad Commission.

In the U.S. House: Randy Weber, CD-14; Joaquin Castro, CD-20; Roger Williams, CD-25; Susan Narvaiz, CD-35.

The Texas Tribune thanks its sponsors. Become one.

In the Texas Senate: Charles Schwertner, SD-5; Ken Paxton, SD-8; Kelly Hancock, SD-9; Mark Shelton, SD-10; Larry Taylor, SD-11; Jeff Wentworth, SD-25.

And in the Texas House: Chuck Hopson, HD-11; Greg Bonnen, HD-24; Jacquie Chaumette, HD-26; J.M. Lozano, HD-43; Sid Miller, HD-59; Jim Landtroop, HD-88; Bill Keffer, HD-114; Steve Nguyen, HD-115.

The Texas Hospital Association will be with Bennett Ratliff in HD-115.

Jamaal Smith goes into the HD-137 runoff with endorsements from Democratic state Reps. Sylvester Turner, Borris Miles, Senfronia Thompson, Armando Walle, and Ron Reynolds. Reynolds is from Missouri City; the others live in Houston. Smith faces Gene Wu of Houston in the runoff.

• The list of endorsements of candidates by candidates is growing:

Chad Wilbanks is supporting Roger Williams in the Republican runoff for CD-25, over Wes Riddle.

The Texas Tribune thanks its sponsors. Become one.

John Pitchford will back Jeff Leach over Jon Cole in the HD-67 runoff in Collin County. Leach is a lawyer and a Plano native.

Charles Scoma and Lady Thombs will back Ken Sapp in his HD-91 GOP runoff against Stephanie Klick. Sapp, a former city councilman in North Richland Hills, finished ahead of Klick, former chairman of the Tarrant County GOP, in round one.

Fort Worth City Councilwoman Kathleen Hicks and Kyev Tatum endorsed Domingo Garcia over Marc Veasey in CD-33.

Texas Tribune donors or members may be quoted or mentioned in our stories, or may be the subject of them. For a complete list of contributors, click here.

Get The Brief

Never miss a moment in Texas politics with our daily newsletter.