Skip to main content

Gone, Baby, Gone

Lost track of who's leaving and who's staying in legislative office?

Tourists enter the empty Senate chamber Wednesday morning as the Texas Senate adjourned sine die the day before, leaving the House with unfinished business on June 29, 2011.

Keeping track?

In the Texas House, 20 members apparently aren't seeking reelection (they've still got time to switch gears), a list that includes Warren Chisum, R-Pampa; Rick Hardcastle, R-Vernon; Lanham Lyne, R-Wichita Falls; Larry Taylor, R-Friendswood; Ken Paxton, R-McKinney; Charles Schwertner, R-Georgetown; Kelly Hancock, R-North Richland Hills; Charlie Howard, R-Sugar Land; Fred Brown, R-Bryan; Randy Weber, R-Pearland; Beverly Woolley, R-Houston; Mark Shelton, R-Fort Worth; Jim Jackson, R-Carrollton; Will Hartnett, R-Dallas; Rodney Anderson, R-Grand Prairie; Jose Aliseda, R-Beeville; Joaquin Castro, D-San Antonio; Pete Gallego, D-Alpine; Chente Quintanilla, D-Tornillo; and Barbara Mallory-Caraway, D-Dallas.

Four senators are opting out so far: Florence Shapiro, R-Plano; Mike Jackson, R-La Porte; Steve Ogden, R-Bryan; and Chris Harris, R-Arlington.

And just one member of the Texas congressional delegation has said he won't seek another term: Ron Paul, R-Lake Jackson.


Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Support independent Texas news

Become a member. Join today.

Donate now

Explore related story topics

State government 2012 elections Texas congressional delegation Texas House of Representatives Texas Legislature Texas Senate