Skip to main content

8 candidates file for special election to replace former state Rep. Jake Ellzey

Five Republicans, one Democrat, an Independent and a Libertarian are vying to fill Ellzey's seat after he won a promotion to Congress last month. The filing deadline was 5 p.m. Thursday.

The state Capitol building on Aug. 11, 2021.

Informed voters, strong democracy with your help

Yes, I'll donate today

Explore related story topics

Politics J.K. "Jake" Ellzey John Wray Texas congressional delegation Texas House of Representatives Texas Legislature