Skip to main content
Coronavirus in Texas

Gov. Greg Abbott bans elective surgeries in four South Texas counties to preserve hospital capacity

Elective procedures are now banned in eight counties around the state — Bexar, Dallas, Harris, Travis, Cameron, Hidalgo, Nueces and Webb.

Gov. Greg Abbott announced a strike force in charge of laying steps to re-open the Texas economy at a press conference in the capitol on April 17, 2020.

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Yes, I'll donate today

Explore related story topics

Health care Greg Abbott