Skip to main content
Texas Legislature 2019

As most states raise their minimum wages, Texas refuses to budge

This year alone, 18 states increased their minimum wage and 30 states now have a minimum wage that exceeds the federal government's $7.25-per-hour rate. Many of Texas' major cities have boosted pay, too. Will the state follow suit?

Frances Sanchez and her three children (from left) Samaria or Sammy Sanchez, 9, Pedro Sanchez, 6, and Katrina Sanchez, soon to be 13, pose for a portrait in the home of a friend where they are staying in Garland.

Texas Legislature 2019

The 86th Legislature runs from Jan. 8 to May 27. From the state budget to health care to education policy — and the politics behind it all — we focus on what Texans need to know about the biennial legislative session.

 More in this series 

Texas cities boost employees’ wages

Bar owner: ‘It’s a slave wage”

Lee Daugherty, owner of Alexandre's Bar in Dallas, posed for a portrait behind the bar Dec. 12, 2018. He pays the staff at Alexandre's $8 an hour with a $15 per hour guarantee, up from the federally mandated $7.25 an hour.
Frances Sanchez plays soccer with her three children, Pedro Sanchez (left), 9, Katrina Sanchez, 12 almost 13, and Samaria Sanchez, 9 in the front yard of a friends house where they are staying. It has been a rough year for Sanchez, losing custody of her kids and becoming homeless started an exhausting cycle of living paycheck to paycheck.
Katrina Sanchez, 12, tackled her mom Frances Sanchez while playing an improvised game of soccer in the front yard where they are staying in Garland.

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Yes, I'll donate today

Explore related story topics

State government 86th Legislative Session Texas Legislature