Skip to main content
Texas Elections 2018

Four candidates file for special election to replace Sylvia Garcia

The deadline was 5 p.m. Friday.

At a press conference in Houston on Nov. 9, 2018, state Sen. Sylvia Garcia announces she will resign from her Senate seat effective 12:01 p.m. today. Garcia joins the U.S. House of Representatives in January.

Texas Elections 2018

U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz defeated Democratic challenger Beto O'Rourke in the race for U.S. Senate. View full 2018 Texas election results or subscribe to The Brief for the latest election news.

 More in this series 

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Support independent Texas news

Become a member. Join today.

Donate now

Explore related story topics

2018 elections Ana Hernandez Carol Alvarado Sylvia R. Garcia Texas Legislature Texas Senate