Skip to main content
Texas 2020 Elections

Watch victory, concession speeches from Ted Cruz and Beto O'Rourke

U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz, R-Texas, defeated U.S. Rep. Beto O'Rourke, D-El Paso, after an intense campaign battle that drew national attention.

Texas Elections 2018

U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz defeated Democratic challenger Beto O'Rourke in the race for U.S. Senate. View full 2018 Texas election results or subscribe to The Brief for the latest election news.

 More in this series 

"Tonight is a victory for the people of Texas," Ted Cruz said Tuesday night in Houston while addressing supporters after winning a second term in the U.S. Senate.

Speaking in El Paso on Tuesday, Beto O'Rourke told supporters: "I'm as hopeful as I have ever been in my life, and tonight's loss does nothing to diminish how I feel about Texas and this country."

Quality journalism doesn't come free

Yes, I'll donate today