Skip to main content

Nearly 90 Texas Democrats Throw Support Behind Clinton

Hillary Clinton's presidential campaign on Monday announced the support of almost 90 Texas Democrats, including well over a majority of the Texas Democrats holding elected office in the Texas Legislature and Washington, D.C.

Democratic presidential frontrunner Hillary Clinton addresses supporters during an October campaign rally in San Antonio. Her campaign announced Wednesday it had hired its first Texas staffers.

*Editor's note: This story has been updated to reflect comments from Tommy Calvert and Ivy Taylor.

Hillary Clinton's presidential campaign on Monday announced the support of almost 90 Texas Democrats, including well over a majority of the Texas Democrats holding elected office in the Texas Legislature and Washington, D.C.

The list puts the former secretary of state far ahead of any of her Democratic rivals in Texas when it comes to endorsements. This "Hillary for Texas Leadership Council," expected to grow as the race goes on, will be responsible for recruiting volunteers to help Clinton claim victory in Texas' March 1 primary.

The council features eight of the 11 Democrats in the Texas congressional delegation, seven of the 11 Democrats in the Texas Senate and 32 of the 52 Democrats in the Texas House. The list also includes the mayor of the largest city in the state — Annise Parker of Houston — as well as members of the city councils in Austin, Houston and San Antonio, plus elected officials from Bexar, Harris and El Paso counties. 

In statements, the newly announced endorsers touted Clinton's long relationship with Texas Democrats, which dates back to her voter registration efforts during the 1970s in South Texas. If Clinton were elected president, state Sen. Carlos Uresti said, "Texas will have our priorities and aspirations for the future represented in the White House like never before." 

Some members of the leadership council had already announced their endorsement of Clinton, such as Travis County Judge Sarah Eckhardt; former state Sen. Leticia Van de Putte, the 2014 Democratic candidate for lieutenant governor, and Wendy Davis, the 2014 Democratic candidate for governor. Others have already campaigned in the early voting states for Clinton, namely Parker and U.S. Rep. Joaquin Castro of San Antonio.

The announcement of the council comes four days after Clinton held her first campaign event in Texas, a San Antonio rally that kicked off a monthslong effort to energize Hispanic voters. At the same event, she received the endorsement of Julián Castro, the former mayor of San Antonio, current U.S. housing secretary and a potential running mate for Clinton. 

The campaign initially listed San Antonio Mayor Ivy Taylor as a member of the council. Taylor's office then clarified she had not endorsed Clinton and as a nonpartisan elected official does not plan to support a candidate in the 2016 race. 

"As mayor, Ms. Taylor has had the opportunity to meet recently with Secretary Hillary Clinton as well as Carly Fiorina," Taylor spokeswoman Leslie Ann Garza said in a statement. "The mayor appreciates the service of Secretary Clinton, Ms. Fiorina and all the candidates for President. However, the mayor of San Antonio is a non-partisan elected office, and Mayor Taylor is committed to remaining non-partisan in the upcoming presidential election."

Clinton's campaign did not immediately respond to a request for comment on Taylor's statement. 

Bexar County Commissioner Tommy Calvert also said he was mistakenly included in the endorsements. He spoke at a debate watch party hosted by Clinton supporters last week in San Antonio but said he "told three staffers" he was not endorsing her. "I don't know how there could be any confusion," he added. 

The full council:

  • U.S. Rep. Joaquin Castro, San Antonio
  • U.S. Rep. Henry Cuellar, Laredo 
  • U.S. Rep. Gene Green, Houston
  • U.S. Rep. Rubén Hinojosa, Edinburg
  • U.S. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson, Dallas
  • U.S. Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee, Houston
  • U.S. Rep. Filemon Vela, Brownsville
  • U.S. Rep. Marc Veasey, Fort Worth 
  • State Sen. Rodney Ellis, Houston
  • State Sen. Sylvia Garcia, Houston
  • State Sen. Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa, McAllen 
  • State Sen. José Rodríguez, El Paso
  • State Sen. Carlos Uresti, San Antonio
  • State Sen. Kirk Watson, Austin
  • State Sen. Royce West, Dallas
  • State Rep. Alma Allen, Houston 
  • State Rep. Carol Alvarado, Houston
  • State Rep. Roberto Alonzo, Dallas 
  • State Rep. Diego Bernal, San Antonio 
  • State Rep. Terry Canales, Edinburg
  • State Rep. Nicole Collier, Fort Worth
  • State Rep. Joe Deshotel, Beaumont
  • State Rep. Jessica Farrar, Houston 
  • State Rep. Mary González, Clint
  • State Rep. Helen Giddings, DeSoto
  • State Rep. Robert "Bobby" Guerra, Mission
  • State Rep. Ana Hernandez, Houston 
  • State Rep. Abel Herrero, Robstown 
  • State Rep. Donna Howard, Austin
  • State Rep. Celia Israel, Austin 
  • State Rep. Oscar Longoria, Mission 
  • State Rep. Eddie Lucio III, Harlingen
  • State Rep. Armando "Mando" Martinez, Weslaco 
  • State Rep. Ina Minjarez, San Antonio 
  • State Rep. Joe Moody, El Paso 
  • State Rep. Sergio Muñoz Jr., Palmview
  • State Rep. Elliott Naishtat, Austin
  • State Rep. Alfonso "Poncho" Nevárez, Eagle Pass
  • State Rep. René Oliveira, Brownsville
  • State Rep. Richard Peña Raymond, Laredo
  • State Rep. Eddie Rodriguez, Austin
  • State Rep. Justin Rodriguez, San Antonio 
  • State Rep. Ramon Romero Jr., Fort Worth
  • State Rep. Toni Rose, Dallas
  • State Rep. Hubert Vo, Houston
  • State Rep. Gene Wu, Houston 
  • Houston Mayor Annise Parker 
  • Houston Mayor Pro Tem Ed Gonzalez 
  • Houston City Controller Ronald Green 
  • Houston City Council Member Dwight Boykins
  • Houston City Council Member Jerry Davis
  • Houston City Council Member Larry V. Green 
  • Bexar County Precinct 4 Commissioner Tommy Calvert 
  • Bexar County Tax Assessor-Collector Albert Uresti
  • Bexar County Precinct 1 Constable Ruben Tejeda 
  • San Antonio City Council Member Rey Saldaña
  • San Antonio City Council Member Rebecca J. Viagran
  • San Antonio City Council Member Alan Warrick II
  • Travis County Judge Sarah Eckhardt
  • Austin City Council Member Delia Garza
  • Austin City Council Member Ann Kitchen 
  • Austin City Council Member Leslie Pool
  • Austin City Council Member Kathie Tovo 
  • Austin ISD Board of Trustees President Gina Hinojosa
  • El Paso District Attorney Jaime Esparza 
  • El Paso County Commissioner Carlos Leon 
  • El Paso City Representative Lily Limón
  • El Paso City Representative Carl L. Robinson 
  • El Paso County Constable Hector Bernal 
  • Harris County Department of Education Board Member Erica Lee Carter 
  • Dallas ISD Board Member Miguel Solis 
  • Bastrop City Council Member Dock Jackson 
  • Former Housing and Urban Development Secretary Henry Cisneros
  • Former Land Commissioner Garry Mauro 
  • Former state Sen. Wendy Davis
  • Former state Sen. Leticia Van de Putte
  • Former El Paso County Judge Alicia R. Chacón 
  • Former Houston Mayor Bill White 
  • Former Houston City Council Member Gordon Quan
  • Former Cibolo City Council Member Bede Ramcharan
  • DNC Member Katie Naranjo 
  • Labor and community leader Noel Candelaria
  • Labor and community leader Zeph Capo
  • Labor and community leader Rick Diegel
  • Labor and community leader Montserrat Garibay
  • Labor and community leader Louis Malfaro
  • Ad executive Judy Trabulsi 
  • Ad executive Roy Spence
  • Grassroots leader Kim Frederick

Disclosure: Judy Trabulsi and Roy Spence have been major donors to The Texas Tribune. A complete list of Texas Tribune donors and sponsors can be viewed here. 

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Yes, I'll donate today

Explore related story topics

Politics State government 2016 elections Texas Democratic Party Texas Legislature