Skip to main content

Perry Condemns Decision to Admit Openly Gay Scouts

UPDATED: Gov. Rick Perry has condemned the decision by Boy Scouts of America's national leadership on Thursday to admit openly gay scouts.

Lead image for this article

Updated May 23:

Gov. Rick Perry has condemned the decision by Boy Scouts of America's national leadership on Thursday to admit openly gay scouts. 

“The Boys Scouts of America has been built upon the values of faith and family for more than 100 years and today’s decision contradicts generations of tradition in the name of political correctness," Perry said in a statement. "While I will always cherish my time as a scout and the life lessons I learned, I am greatly disappointed with this decision.”

Original story, Feb. 5:

Dozens of Republican state lawmakers and several statewide elected officials have signed on to a letter to the Boy Scouts of America encouraging them to maintain the organization's ban on openly gay members.

The signees include U.S. Rep. Kenny Marchant, R-Bonham; Land Commissioner Jerry Patterson; and Agriculture Commissioner Todd Staples, plus at least 30 lawmakers. The letter was released by Jonathan Saenz, president of the conservative group Texas Values, who said he emailed all of Texas' elected officials to invite them to add their names to the letter.

"As state elected officials, we strongly encourage the Boy Scouts of America to stick with their decades of support for family values and moral principles," the letter states. "Capitulating to the liberal social agenda not only undermines the very principles of scouting, but sets the stage for the erosion of an organization that has defined the American experience for generations of young men."

Last week, the Boy Scouts of America announced that it would consider lifting the ban on openly gay members and allowing local chapters to set their own policies. On Monday, the national executive board began meeting at a hotel in Irving. Board members are expected to rule on the policy on Wednesday. Texas Values is planning a "Save Our Scouts" rally outside of the meeting.

Although he has not signed on to the letter, Gov. Rick Perry said on Saturday that he supports maintaining the ban. "Hopefully the board will follow their historic position of keeping the Scouts strongly supportive of the values that make scouting this very important and impactful organization," he told reporters after speaking to hundreds of Scouts at the Capitol. "To have popular culture impact 100 years of their standards is inappropriate."

Here's the full list of Republican officials who have signed on: 

Texas Agriculture Commissioner Todd Staples

Texas Land Commissioner Jerry Patterson

Congressman Kenny Marchant (R-Bonham)

State Senator Ken Paxton (R-McKinney)

State Senator Kelly Hancock (R-Fort Worth)

State Senator Brian Birdwell (R-Granbury)

State Senator Dan Patrick (R-Houston)

State Senator Larry Taylor (R-Friendswood)

State Representative Giovanni Capriglione (R-Southlake)

State Representative Pat Fallon (R-Frisco)

State Representative Scott Sanford (R-McKinney)

State Representative Jeff Leach (R-Plano)

State Representative Matt Krause (R-Ft. Worth)

State Representative Ron Simmons (R-Carrollton)

State Representative Steve Toth (R-The Woodlands)

State Representative Scott Turner (R-Frisco)

State Representative Phil King (R-Weatherford)

State Representative Jodie Laubenberg (R-Parker)

State Representative Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound)

State Representative Van Taylor (R-Plano)

State Representative Stephanie Klick (R-Fort Worth)

State Representative Bill Zedler (R-Arlington)

State Representative Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola)

State Representative Drew Springer (R-Muenster)

State Representative Dan Flynn (R-Canton)

State Representative Cecil Bell Jr. (R-Magnolia)

State Representative Matt Schaefer (R-Tyler)

State Representative James White (R-Woodville)

State Representative Rob Orr (R-Burleson)

State Representative James Frank (R-Wichita Falls)

State Representative Dwayne Bohac (R-Houston)

State Representative David Simpson (R-Longview)

State Representative Greg Bonnen (R-Friendswood)

State Representative Rick Miller (R-Sugar Land)

State Representative Jonathan Stickland (R-Bedford)

State Representative Charles Perry (R-Lubbock)

State Representative Jason Isaac (R-Dripping Springs)

State Board of Education Member Ken Mercer (R-San Antonio)

State Board of Education Member David Bradley (R-Beaumont)

Collin Country Commissioner Pct 3 Chris Hill (BSA Circle Ten Lone Star District Chairman)

Collin County Judge Keith Self

Collin County Commissioner Pct 1 Matt Shaheen

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Support independent Texas news

Become a member. Join today.

Donate now

Explore related story topics

Politics State government Texas Legislature