Skip to main content

The Dead Incumbents Society

Which elected officials won't be back next year?

Tara Rios-Ybarra

Several incumbents, some who knew they were facing serious contenders and others who were blindsided, had the sun set on their current political careers as the vote totals from Tuesday’s Primary Election came down the pike.

Leading off on the list is Texas Railroad Commissioner Victor Carrillo, who lost to challenger David Porter by more than 20 percentage points.

In the State Board of Education District 12 race, incumbent Geraldine "Tincy" Miller lost to challenger George M. Clayton by about 3.5 percentage points. In SBOE 9, challenger Thomas Ratliff narrowly defeated Don McLeroy.

Rep. Dora Olivo of Rosenberg lost the Democratic primary to challenger Ron Reynolds. Olivo beat Reynolds in 2008 but was trounced by more than 15 percentage points this time, garnering only 42 percent of the 8,950 ballots cast. Reynolds will face Libertarian Derek Grayson in November.

South Padre Island's freshman state Rep. Tara Rios Ybarra lost her chance to become a sophomore, losing solidly to challenger J.M. Lozano. Lozano, a Kingville businessman, received more than 8,800 votes to her 6,600.

Dallas Democrat Terri Hodge will not return to Austin, a surprise to no one: She dropped her re-election bid last month after pleading guilty to federal charges. Though her name remained on the ballot Tuesday — her conviction came too late to remove it — challenger and attorney Eric Johnson cruised to an easy victory.

Terrell Republican Betty Brown narrowly lost her re-election bid to challenger and former aide Lance Gooden by 108 votes. Brown could ask for a recount due to Gooden's close margin of victory.

Longview Republican Tommy Merritt lost his seat to challenger David Simpson by fewer than 900 votes. Simpson faces Libertarian candidate Eric Brandt in November.

Texans need truth. Help us report it.

Support independent Texas news

Become a member. Join today.

Donate now

Explore related story topics

2010 elections