Tier-One Prize Money Bill Passes Texas Senate

After hitting a brief snag, the bill that creates a mechanism for the leaders in the race to become the state's next tier-one university passed the state Senate today.

Seven institutions that are designated as "emerging research universities" — University of Houston, Texas Tech University, University of North Texas, and the University of Texas campuses in Dallas, Arlington, El Paso and San Antonio — have been competing to be designated the state's next "national research university." Currently, that group includes just three universities: the University of Texas, Texas A&M University and Rice University.

The biggest financial incentive, created ...

Full Story

Comment Policy

The Texas Tribune is pleased to provide the opportunity for you to share your observations about this story. We encourage lively debate on the issues of the day, but we ask that you refrain from using profanity or other offensive speech, engaging in personal attacks or name-calling, posting advertising, or wandering away from the topic at hand. To comment, you must be a registered user of the Tribune, and your real name will be displayed. Thanks for taking time to offer your thoughts.

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Login | Sign-Up

Sign Up for The Brief

Our daily news summary